What is Urban Barber College doing about the new 1,000 hour requirement?
All Barber and Cosmetology schools were advised by California’s State Board of Barber and Cosmetology to have currently enrolled students to complete the programs as contracted in the enrollment agreements signed by the student and the school representative.
When will the provisions in the bill (the New 1000 Hour Requirement) be effective?
Although, based on State Board’s email/guidance SB 803 (the new 1000 hour requirement) states it becomes effective January 1, 2022, students currently enrolled at Urban Barber College will continue their 1500 hour programs until further notice. UBC, State Board, and BPPE (Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education) will be in frequent communication as the additional requirements and updates needed to make this change become available. The email posted from the State Board is one of a few emails and communications that will be sent to all Barber and Cosmetology schools in the coming months, and as the communications come we will update the Campus Community.
If a student fails their practical exam close to the date when the changes take place, but passes the written exam, do they need to retake the practical?
No, after January 1, 2022, they will be considered eligible for a license if they have already passed the written portion of the exam.
Will students currently enrolled need to take a practical exam if they graduate after January 1, 2022?
For currently enrolled Urban Barber College students, the practical exam will no longer exist after January 1, 2022. However, all other students graduating before January 1, 2022 will have to take the practical exam.
If I am about to graduate, can I just wait until after January 1, 2022 to take the exam that doesn’t require a practical portion?
The original email from the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not provide explicit guidance on this matter. For the most accurate information, as State Board continues to review update and hone their guidance to schools, please call State Board directly at (800) 952-5210 .
Can I take a Leave of Absence (LOA) now and wait until the 1000 hours change?
No, Leave of Absences are reserved for serious circumstances such as personal illness, car accidents, etc. that must be followed up with supporting documentation.
What about the Email/Guidance from California’s State Board Barbering and Cosmetology outlining additional information (Senate Bill (SB) 803 Roth, Chapter 878, Statutes of 2021 Questions and Answers )?
Yes, there is additional information. However, Urban Barber College In addition, all other Barber and Cosmetology schools must wait on further guidance from BPPE (Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education) in order to make the necessary changes outlined in State Board’s email/guidance. As we continue to get updates, we will update these FAQs.
I have additional questions not outlined in this document, who do I ask?
For specific answers as to how these changes will impact UBC, please continue to visit this webpage for further updates. Then for additional information, directly from California’s State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, please visit this link ( http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/) regularly for updated information. The Board is working with the Department of Consumer Affairs and the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education on implementation of these changes and will be posting updates soon. Thank you for your patience.